Lulworth Castle and Park
Walk in the footsteps of Kings and Queens as you enjoy wide open spaces, historic buildings and stunning landscapes. Built as a Hunting Lodge in 1608, this Castle has been owned by the same family for over 400 years. Inside the Castle is a wealth of fascinating history; follow their fortunes, fate and the fire from then until the present day & discover the fascinating history in the castle displays. Climb the Castle Tower and take in the unrivalled views across the Purbecks and enjoy a delicious cream tea in the Castle Tearoom.
Enjoy the tranquillity of the nearby 18C Chapel, let off steam in the Adventure Playground, take a wander through the park and woodland, bring a picnic and enjoy the stunning landscapes.
Pay & Display parking (£3 per vehicle all day) allows access to the park & woodland walks, children’s playground and picnic areas. There is a separate admission price for entry to Lulworth Castle, the Castle lawns and the Chapel. Last Admission is 1 hour before closing. The Castle & Courtyard are available for weddings, corporate & private hire. Special events are held throughout the year. Visit our website or call 01929 400352 for more details.
Lulworth Castle Tearoom
Relax, Refresh And Enjoy Delicious Homemade Cakes
Recently opened, this tearoom at the heart of the Castle serves homemade cakes, cream teas and ice creams. Enjoy the views from the tearoom garden or get a takeaway to enjoy at your leisure in the Park. If you’re looking to pick up a little souvenir from your visit, the tearoom has a small collection of gifts and memorabilia.
No admission fee required to the Castle to enjoy the tearoom. Pay & Display parking.
Open 10.30am–4.30pm when the Castle is open.
The Castle and Castle Tearoom are closed every Saturday – and occasionally on other days during the week. Please check here for details of planned closures, before you travel.
A History 375 Years In The Making
In 1641 Humphrey Weld, grandson of a rich London Merchant and direct ancestor of the current owner, purchased the Lulworth Estates from Thomas Howard who had built the Castle here between 1608 and 1610 to complement his manor house at Bindon Abbey in the nearby village of Wool.
Humphrey did not have the Castle for long before the Civil War erupted in England, during which the manor house at Wool was destroyed and the Estate sequestrated by the Parliamentarians. After the Civil War Humphrey Weld needed to refurbish the Castle’s interior as it was now the main family home and needed alterations to make it permanently liveable.
Over the years, the Castle has had various uses, occupants and a diverse and colourful history. There have been a number of significant events at the Castle, some like the fire of 1929 were devastating, others less so but equally as important in the Castle’s history.
From a perilous state of decay following the fire the Castle was saved from eventual ruin. The exterior is now fully restored and the interior consolidated. Exposed to the elements for 70 years after the fire, the Castle decayed rapidly, stonework eroded and unburnt timbers rotted until the whole structure was in danger of collapse.
Discussions between the Weld Estate and English Heritage led to the start of a programme of consolidation. The first priority was safety; dangerous and crumbling masonry was supported, scaffolding erected and the site was cleared of vegetation and loose debris.
Stripped of plaster and panelling by the fire, the naked walls revealed their history. Previously hidden details like blocked doorways and scars of demolished walls, together with historic records, were used to interpret the building’s development over the centuries. The project was completed in 1998 when the Castle opened its doors for the first time since the fire to allow the public to explore this unique building and discover its past for themselves.
Visitors can now climb the tower to see spectacular views over the Dorset Countryside, use the information panels to interpret the history of the building, explore the basement rooms and memorabilia collections, watch the video of the fire, hunt for the ten bats hidden in the Castle. During the summer months there are a variety of lawn games to play including Giant Jenga, Pitch and Putt and Swingball tennis.
Visit Lulworth Castle
Built in the early 17th Century as a hunting lodge, Lulworth Castle became the family seat at the heart of this large estate, hosting royalty and aristocracy before it was ravaged by fire. Now open to the public, it's a great day out for all the family.
|Ticket Type||Ticket Tariff|
|Adult||£6.00 per ticket|
|Child 4-15yrs||£4.00 per ticket|
Prices will vary for Special Events.
Entry is free of charge to English Heritage** & Historic House Association Members
**Corporate Memberships to English Heritage are not valid at this attraction including Cadw
* English Heritage & Historic House memberships are not valid at special events such as ‘Easter at Lulworth’ or ‘Spooky Fun’.
|Castle and Park (31 Mar 2020 - 20 Dec 2020)|
|Monday - Friday||10:30||- 16:00*|
* The Castle closes for the winter and reopens on Sunday 31st March 2019. The park remains open Sunday to Friday over the winter, 10.30 – 4pm. Closed Saturdays.
The Park will be open from 10:30am until 4pm (winter), 10.30am – 5pm (summer)
The Castle will be open from 10:30am until 4pm (winter), 10.30am – 5pm (summer)
Opening dates and times may vary throughout the year, please check website or call 01929 400352 before visiting.
Last Admission is 1 hour before closing.