Poole Tourism
Internal pages

Dream Machines Bike of the Year

Poole Dream Machines Bike of the Year

 sponsored by A-Plan Insurance

Bike of the Year Winner 2016

 L to R: Anne Simpson - Poole Tourism Events Manager, Allen Millyard - Bike of the Year winner 2016 & Kerry Pope - Chief Marshal. 

The 2016 season of Poole Dream Machines ended on a high with hundreds of bikes enjoying an epic season finale on Tuesday 27 September.

Organised by Poole Tourism, Dream Machines is part of Wave 105 Summertime in the South, Poole’s packed summer events programme.  The final event of the Dream Machines 2016 season was marked by the eagerly awaited Bike of the Year contest sponsored by A Plan Insurance.

Open to winners of the weekly “Bike of the Night” heats during 2016, the finale saw 16 bikes welcomed back to compete. 

During the evening, voting cards were handed out to fellow bikers and spectators who cast their votes for their favourite bike in the line up.  Each owner provided information for their competing bike giving its history.

1st place – Run away winner was Allen Millyard from Berkshire with his unique Flying Millyard.  Chosen by the public, Allen won £300 cash courtesy of A Plan Insurance, The Midge Holloway Trophy and a free MOT from All2wheelers.

Allen, said: “Dream Machines is a great event and I’ve been coming for years. This year I couldn’t believe the crowd around my bike.  I think people really liked the homemade Chitty Chitty Bang Bang look of it. Everyone was lovely and it’s amazing talking to people about it, especially those who don’t ride as they really got into the event and voted.”

Known as the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Bang Bike, Allen made most of his bike at home, by hand.  Based on a 5000cc Board Track Racer, the bike’s cylinders are from a 1940’s Pratt and Whitney air craft engines.  

Bike of the Year 2nd 16 

2nd place  – Tony Philogene from Verwood with his custom built trike.  Tony won £200 cash courtesy of A Plan Insurance and a free MOT from All2wheelers.

Bike of the Year 3rd 16

3rd place – Ken Allen, from Southampton with his 1962 Norton.  Ken won £100 cash courtesy of A Plan Insurance and a free MOT from All2wheelers.

The top 10 placings were:   

Bike of the Year

Bike Owner Votes
 1.   Flying Millyard Allen Millyard  140
 2. Custom Built Trike  Tony Philogene   65
 3. 1962 Norton Ken Allen 63
 4. Harley Davidson 48 Sportster John Strange 39
 5. Triumph Tiger 110 John Pankhurst 33
 6. Honda VT8 Sylvester Trybala 30
 7. Joint place BSA shooting star 500 twin  Brian Roocroft 27
 7. Joint place MV150 RS Rapido James Steventon 27
 9. Chopper Martin Sharp  26
10. AJS 650CSR John Fear 24


Graham Richardson, Poole Tourism Manager, said: “Bike of the Year is always a brilliant way to end the Dream Machine season.  The competition was fierce and it was great to see so many families, enthusiasts and riders joining in to choose the winner.  It’s been a fantastic year and a credit everyone involved, and our thanks go especially the volunteer marshals who give up their time week after week to help support the event.”  

See the full line up of 2016's Bike of the Year competitors or visit Poole Tourism's Dream Machines 2016 photo album on Facebook. 

You can also register for the Poole Dream Machines NewsDirect enewsletter or keep up with the latest news on #PooleDreamMachines